Home / Coronavirus / There Are No COVID-19 Cases In These 16 Countries (For Various Reasons)

There Are No COVID-19 Cases In These 16 Countries (For Various Reasons)

The coronavirus has spread almost all over the world. However, some countries report no cases – for various reasons.

There are 1.4 million confirmed COVID-19 cases worldwide. 181 countries of the world have reported COVID-19 cases. But only 16 countries in the world have not registered cases of the new virus, the BBC reports. These countries: Yemen, Kiribati, Comoros, Lesotho, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, North Korea, Palau, Solomon Islands, Samoa, Tajikistan, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

However, the fact that the countries mentioned do not yet have confirmed cases of corona does not mean that there is actually no COVID-19 disease. There can be three reasons: First, certain countries are unable to test. Second, there are countries that do not disclose the number of cases, and third, some countries are actually isolated.

Uncertain cases in Africa

The first group includes countries in Africa such as Comoros and Lesotho. Experts suspect the number of cases in Africa is much higher than official figures suggest. When the coronavirus first appeared on the continent, only two countries were able to perform the tests.

North Korea is one of the countries that does not reveal the number of cases. Officially, there are no patients with COVID-19, but it is very difficult for experts to examine this. The reason, for example, is that North Korea borders China and maintains a vibrant economic exchange. Daily NK news agency also reported on deaths and quarantine measures in North Korea in early March.

Isolated Countries

Apart from North Korea, the government of Turkmenistan does not report any cases of the COVID-19. This is unlikely as neighboring Iran is battling every day and has about 60,000 cases and is one of the most affected countries in the world. The word coronavirus has recently been banned in Turkmenistan in the media or in public.

But there are actually countries that are still completely isolated. For example, the island state of Nauru in the Pacific Ocean, which has a population of about 10,000. The country is hardly visited by tourists and imposed entry restrictions on March 2. In addition, foreigners must first be quarantined for two weeks before they can enter the country.

COVID-19 will reach all countries

The situation is similar in other smaller Pacific states. These include Kiribati, Tonga, and Vanuatu. As former WHO representative Colin Tukuitonga says, isolation has always been a problem in these islands.

The goal of these countries is to prevent infection for as long as possible. Many countries have only one hospital and cannot cope with the widespread of the virus. However, health experts doubt that all these countries will be spared completely. At some point, the virus will reach all countries.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *